Classic Skin

Classic Skin
Bringing back the pride

Sunday, August 8, 2010

CANTON, Ohio (AP) — Russ Grimm on Saturday became the first member of the Washington Redskins' renowned "Hogs" offensive line inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Joining Grimm in the Class of 2010 were Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith, John Randle, Dick LeBeau, Rickey Jackson and Floyd Little.

Grimm, an outstanding guard with the Redskins from 1981 to 1991, won three Super Bowls with the team, whose offense was built around the Hogs. At left guard, Grimm was a powerful run blocker and an often-impenetrable pass protector who was chosen for the league's all-decade team of the 1980s.

Grimm was presented by his offensive line coach with the Redskins, Joe Bugel, who called Grimm the "Head Hog," the go-to guy on that line.

"It's a privilege to play in the NFL," said Grimm, now the assistant head coach of the Arizona Cardinals. "It's been a privilege to coach in the NFL. It's an honor to be selected here in Canton."

Grimm called the Hogs "a group of guys that grew together, worked together, rose families together" and said he would have their names embroidered on the inside of his gold Hall of Fame jacket.

No comments:

Post a Comment